Born in 2017, AiR - Art in Research is the first art gallery dedicated to scientific photography. With the aim of revealing unsuspected beauty in scientific research, we want to show the world how intriguing, mysterious and harmonious photographs taken by scientists in the context of their work can be. In addition, one can directly help funding research by purchasing one or several of our artworks.

Mise-en-Situation-Best-1.jpg

Photography plays a crucial role in today’s scientific research: various imaging techniques, such as microscopy, are now used in physics, biology, medicine, earth science, and even mathematics. Some of the researchers we support really step into artists’ shoes, while others simply capture instants of beauty reminiscent of the fragile and delicate harmony of nature. Sometimes by revealing the invisible, and other times by playing with the scales of observation, our photographs are at the same time surrounded by mystery and witnesses to an indisputable truth.

About the founder

Co-fondateur Art in Research - Alexandre Darmon

During his PhD, Alexandre Darmon got interested in the physics of liquid crystals and developed a real fascination for these objects that interact with light in such a spectacular manner. It was during a stay in Kyoto that he found a way to combine his passion for photography with his love of science. In 2017, he co-founded the AiR - Art in Research gallery and acts today as a photographer and curator to reveal a radical, fundamental, hidden beauty in our research laboratories.

Press

logo_France_Inter.png
logo_letsgofrance.png
logo-lemonde.png
logo_maddyness.png
logo_lesechos-start@2x.png
logo-usine-nouvelle.png
logo_bsmart.png

Scientific mediation

Bearing in mind that art is a formidable vector of communication, we organize exhibitions, conferences, and school interventions to arouse children’s scientific and artistic curiosity. Science has the power to fascinate everyone, one just has to know how to tell the story: at AiR, we choose to tell it with pictures.

Kyoto-Keynote-2_edited.jpg

Conference "A history of images in science", Kyoto, Japon

Art in Research (AiR) est une galerie photo d'un genre nouveau. Depuis 2017, nous avons à coeur de révéler les beautés cachées de la recherche scientifique en proposant des tirages de photographies prises par les chercheurs dans leur laboratoire. Notre singularité s’exprime aussi dans notre engagement, prônant un art responsable : une partie de nos recettes finance les projets de recherche derrière chacune des oeuvres.

La photographie occupe une place cruciale dans la recherche scientifique actuelle : diverses techniques d’imagerie, telles que la microscopie, servent aujourd’hui la physique, la biologie, la médecine, les géo-sciences, et même les mathématiques. Certains des chercheurs que nous soutenons enfilent véritablement le costume d’artiste, d’autres capturent simplement des instants de beauté qui évoquent la fragile et délicate harmonie de la nature. Révélant parfois l’invisible, jouant avec les échelles d’observations, nos photographies déroutent et font travailler l’imaginaire ; elles sont autant emplies de mystère qu’empreintes d’une indiscutable vérité.

Un mot sur le fondateur

Pendant son doctorat, Alexandre Darmon s'intéresse à la physique des cristaux liquides et développe alors une véritable fascination pour ces objets qui interagissent avec la lumière d’une manière si particulière. C'est à l’occasion d’un séjour à Kyoto qu’il trouve le moyen d’allier sa passion pour la photographie à son amour des sciences. Il co-fonde en 2017 la galerie AiR - Art in Research et oeuvre aujourd'hui tant en qualité de photographe que commissaire d'exposition pour révéler au monde une beauté radicale, fondamentale, cachée dans nos laboratoires de recherche.

Presse

logo_France_Inter.png
logo_letsgofrance.png
logo_maddyness.png
logo-usine-nouvelle.png

Médiation scientifique

Gardant toujours à l’esprit que l’art est un formidable vecteur de communication, nous organisons des expositions, conférences, et interventions dans les écoles pour éveiller la curiosité scientifique et artistique des plus jeunes. La science a le pouvoir de passionner tout le monde, il suffit de savoir comment la raconter : chez AiR, nous choisissons d’en parler avec des images.

Conférence "Une histoire de l'image scientifique", Kyoto, Japon

© 2021 Art in Research

  • Icône Facebook noir
  • Icône Instagram noir
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône
0